This site is for learning and sharing about Yoga. Topics include teaching, asana, meditation and a nurturing forum for questions about your Yoga practice.

Ayurveda: What’s Your Dosha?

“Ayur” means “life” and “veda” means “knowledge.  Ayurveda, the ancient medical/holistic system from the East, teaches the life knowledge that health is maintained by the balancing of three subtle energies known as Doshas. Individually they are Vatha, Pitta and Kapha.

This system teaches maintenance and protection of the whole person (body, mind and soul). Ayurvedic medicine is based on an individual’s characteristics and body frame rather than oriented toward treating disease or sickness.

Each of us are made up of a combination of the three types of doshas. The three doshas are comprised of these five universal elements:

  1. earth (1st chakra)
  2. water (2nd chakra)
  3. fire (3rd chakra)
  4. air (4th chakra)
  5. space (5th chakra)

Vatha is a combination of air and space.

Pitta is mostly fire with some water.

Kapha is mostly water with some earth.

Overall well-being and striving for longevity depends on keeping your doshas balanced. Any imbalance among the three doshas causes a state of unhealthiness or disease. Factors that contribute to balancing the doshas are diet, exercise, good digestion, and elimination of toxins.

Most people tend to have a primary and close secondary dosha. It is rare to be ‘tri-doshic,’ (which is an even balance between all three). This becomes more likely after a sustained, healthy 8-limbed yoga practice spanning across months and years. It is also not unusual to be primarily one dosha or tri-doshic for a period of time and have that change due to environmental stress and lifestyle changes.

To take a test and determine your dosha balance, go to the following link:

Dr. Chopra’s test, results and suggestions are very accurate. This site will provide an introduction to the world of Ayurvedic, holistic medicine. Enjoy, and BE WELL.


No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: